TSUSports.com: Robertson Named SWAC Coach of the Year, Castillo Lands on All-SWAC First Team Ahead of SWAC Tournament


Staff member

Texas Southern University’s head baseball coach Michael Robertson has been named the Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) Coach of the Year, while CJ Castillo was selected to the All-SWAC First Team ahead of the SWAC Baseball Tournament beginning on Wednesday in Atlanta, Georgia.

Robertson had an impressive campaign this season as Texas Southern claimed the SWAC West Regular Season Champions. The Tigers wrapped up the season going 22-23 overall and 18-6 in the conference.

Castillo earned All-SWAC first team honors as he sits in the top 10 of the conference with a .408 batting average while ranking second for on base percentage (0.566). Castillo has scored 39 runs on 42 hits with eight doubles and four homers including one against SEC foe, Texas A&M, two against Grambling, and one against Southern. Additionally he has 39 RBIs. His season highs includes 12 putouts at Alcorn, five RBIs at Grambling State, five assists at Alcorn, four hits at Prairie View, and four runs scored vs Alcorn.

Texas Southern enters the tournament as the No. 1 seed from the Western Division and will play the No. 4 seed Jackson State at 2 p.m. CST.

Please see tournament bracket and schedule below. Click here to purchase tickets for the event.

Wednesday, May 22

Game 1 – (E2) Bethune-Cookman vs. (W3) Prairie View A&M, 9:00 a.m.

Game 2 – (W2) Grambling State vs. (E3) Alabama State, 12:00 p.m.

Game 3 – (W1) Texas Southern vs. (E4) Jackson State, 3:00 p.m.

Game 4 – (E1) Florida A&M vs. (W4) Southern, 6:00 p.m.

Thursday, May 23

Game 5 – Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 3, 9:00 a.m.

Game 6 – Loser Game 2 vs. Loser Game 4, 12:00 p.m.

Game 7 – Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 3, 3:00 p.m.

Game 8 – Winner Game 2 vs. Winner Game 4, 6:00 p.m.

Friday, May 24

Game 9 – Winner Game 5 vs. Loser Game 7, 9:00 a.m.

Game 10 – Winner Game 6 vs. Loser Game 8, 12:00 p.m.

Game 11 – Winner Game 7 vs. Winner Game 9, 3:00 p.m.

Game 12 – Winner Game 10 vs. Winner Game 8, 6:00 p.m.

Saturday, May 25 (If necessary)

Game 11b – Loser Game 11 vs. Winner Game 11, 12:00 p.m.

Game 12b – Loser Game 12 vs. Winner Game 12. 3:00 p.m.

Sunday, May 26

Game 13 – Championship Game, 1:00 p.m.

Courtesy: TSUSports.com