SWAC Announces Men’s Basketball Postseason Honors


Well-Known Member
TigerFans Premium
BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Southwestern Athletic Conference announced its 2020-21 All-SWAC Men’s Basketball teams and individual award winners on Tuesday afternoon. The all-conference honors were voted on by the league’s coaches and sports information directors.

Jackson State’s Tristan Jarrett was named Player of the Year, while fellow teammate Jayveous McKinnis claimed Defensive Player of the Year recognition.

Texas Southern’s Michael Weathers was tabbed Newcomer of the Year, Southern’s Terrell Williams was selected Freshman of the Year, and Prairie View A&M’s Byron Smith was voted SWAC Coach of the Year.

Jarrett (Brownsville, Tenn.) led the league in scoring with 20.3 points per contest. He was the key scoring threat for a Jackson State Tigers team that was crowned 2021 SWAC Men’s Basketball regular season co-champions. He also ranked 10th in the league in rebounds per game (5.7), 3rd in free throw percentage (.835), 5th in field goal percentage (.413), 1st in three-point field goals made per game (2.4), 9th in steals per game (1.5) and 7th in minutes played per game (31.7).

McKinnis (Brandon, Miss.) was the key defensive presence for a Jackson State Tigers team that ranked 1st in opponent average points per game (61.6). He ranked 9th in the league in points per game (12.2), 1st in rebounds per game (13.1), 10th in free throw percentage (.627), 1st in blocks per game (2.0), and 6th in minutes played per game (31.9).

Weathers (Roeland Park, Kan.) completed his debut season in the SWAC ranked 5th in points per game (16.2), 15th in rebounds per game (5.2), 3rd in field goal percentage (.491), 5th in assists per game (3.4), 8th in assists to turnover ratio (1.1), 2nd in steals per game (2.1), and 8th in minutes played per game (30.7).

Williams (Arlington, Texas) concluded his collegiate debut season ranked 22nd in the league in assists per game (1.6), while averaging 7.1 points per game along with 3.3 rebounds per game.

Smith led the Prairie View A&M Panthers to their third consecutive regular season title and an undefeated record in league play at 13-0. Prairie View A&M enters the 2021 Cricket Wireless SWAC Men’s Basketball Tournament as the number one seed.

The complete list all-conference selections and individual awards winners is listed below.

All-SWAC First Team
Troymain Crosby- Alcorn State
Michael Weathers- Texas Southern
Tristan Jarrett- Jackson State
Cam Mack- Prairie View A&M
Shaun Doss Jr.- Arkansas-Pine Bluff

All-SWAC Second Team
Jawaun Daniels- Prairie View A&M
Jayveous McKinnis – Jackson State
Cameron Christon- Grambling State
Garrett Hicks- Alabama A&M
Jalen Johnson- Alabama A&M

Player of the Year
Tristan Jarrett- Jackson State

Defensive Player of the Year
Jayveous McKinnis- Jackson State

Newcomer of the Year
Michael Weathers- Texas Southern

Freshman of the Year

Terrell Williams- Southern

Coach of the Year
Byron Smith- Prairie View A&M