TSUSports.com: Owens Named Walter Payton Award Finalist


Staff member

11/21/2023 4:01:00 PM

TSU Sports Information

TSU senior running back LaDarius Owens was named a finalist for the 2023 Walter Payton Award on Tuesday.

The award, which given annually to the national offensive player of the year in Division I FCS college football, is presented by FedEx Ground. First presented in 1987 and in its 37th season, is named for legendary running back Walter Payton, who starred at Jackson State as part of his Hall of Fame career. Affectionately known as the Heisman of the FCS, its past recipients include Steve McNair, Tony Romo, Brian Westbrook, Jimmy Garoppolo, Cooper Kupp and Trey Lance.

Owens rewrote the TSU record book this season as he finished with 3,114 career rushing yards while also setting a single season record of 1,370 yards while also compiling 24 rushing touchdowns, which ranks third all-time in TSU history. He also leads TSU all-time in all-purpose yardage with 4,310 yards.

All 13 FCS leagues, comprised from 15 conferences overall, are represented by a Walter Payton Award finalist. The winner, to be selected by a national voting panel, will be announced at the FCS National Awards Banquet on Jan. 6 in Frisco, Texas – the eve of the FCS championship game.

Courtesy: TSUSports.com